“Not All Men Are Like That.”

Standard

frustrating, but so important to read!

Teaching Cats

I’m a high school teacher so I tend to overhear a lot of stupid teenage conversations. A few weeks ago, while I was substituting for another teacher, I happened to overhear a conversation between two of the boys about a recent rape claim laid against a prominent football player.

“She’s probably lying.” One of the boys said dismissively, “She’s just trying to get him into trouble.”

“Or she was drunk.” His friend said.

I swallowed the urge to scream, took a deep breath and contemplated whether it was worth arguing with a bunch of teenage boys, weighing it up against the chances of their regular teacher being annoyed I’d used her class time on teaching some kids about consent.

Who was I kidding?

“Very few rape claims are ever false.” I interrupted. “And even if she was drunk, it still counts as rape. A drunk person can’t consent to sex.”

View original post 1,372 more words

Leave a Reply

